Still trying to figure out the value of Adobe Carousel

So, Adobe Carousel is out.

I talked about it here and made what I thought was a clever parallel between the Mad Men TV series and the fact that I thought that Adobe was clearly a bunch of mad men.

So why Adobe Carousel?

Obviously an answer to Apple iCloud (I am sure that Adobe will argue that they had thought about it prior to iCloud’s release).

The second reason for Adobe Carousel is to fill-in the gap for a mobile version of Lightroom. Sure there exists a number of apps for the iPad like PhotoSmith, PhotoGene and CameraSync, but Adobe Carousel sounds like a complete, integrated solution.

But there is a but. A big one for me.

Would I pay $99 per year (after the first year) to subscribe to this service?

Obviously no!

I currently have 8GB of free storage on DropBox and you can get free online storage from tons of other service providers.

Why would I pay for storage that is dedicated to picture sharing when I can have the same workflow for free?

I do not understand the business model. It must be me…

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Still trying to figure out the value of Adobe Carousel

  1. Pingback: Adobe Carousel Will Struggle Against Free Photo Stream | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  2. Pingback: Adobe Carousel Will Struggle Against Free Photo Stream | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  3. Pingback: Adobe Carousel iOS Review | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  4. Pingback: How I use my iPad as photographer’s tool – a second look | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  5. Pingback: Lightroom 4 beta is available and Aperture users can rejoice | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  6. Pingback: All new Photosmith Lightroom plugin | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  7. Pingback: iCloud and Lightroom integration with PhotoStream2Folder | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

