Photo Gears: What’s my next move?

I love photography gears, from bags to lenses to accessories. My girlfriend know that I can be gadget-aholic.

And now, I am planning my next move and I might need to think this one out loud.

I currently own a Nikon D90 that I bought with the 18-105 VR 3.5/5.6 kit lens. I later complemented it with the Nikon 70-300 VR lens for birding. I then sold my 18-105 for the 18-200 VR II 3.5/5.6 lens. For a “walk-around” lens, it suited me more. Now having a 200mm range, I figured that my 70-300 was not “significantly” more, so I sold it to get a Sigma 150-500mm OS HSM 5.6/6.3 lens. I also have an old, very old, 50mm f/1.8 lens that came with my Father’s old F series Nikon. Since it’s all manual (focus and metering), I do not use it often, although I loved taking flower pictures with it.

I also have a SB-900 flash and I recently got an umbrella and a stand for it. I have yet to use this latest “portable-studio” addition and I just can’t wait for some family portrait shots over the Holiday season. I have a monopod for taking nature photography and a small table-top Gorilla-pod (that I mostly use as my iPad easel!).

Oh, and I have a couple of Kata bags. The DR-467i which I use as my go-to-work laptop bag and my walk-around bag on vacation (see this story) and my 3N1-22 which I use to keep all my gears (and thus also as my main bag when going on a casual shoot).

So here I am, with a recent yearly bonus in hand (not much, but enough), thinking out loud for my next move. And my options are:

  1. The new Nikon D7000 that I lust for (with all these AF points, dual SD slots, incredible high ISO performance and more);
  2. The very practical Tokina AT-X 11-16mm f/2.8 Pro DX AF lens to complement my lens pack (great for architectural pics and indoor shots as well);
  3. A fast 70-200mm f2.8 zoom lens (Nikon, Sigma?) to shoot indoor sports;
  4. Or any other ideas that I might be missing…

Sure, I would love that new Nikon body, but I think that I have to be reasonable and complement my set with that Tokina lens.

What are your thoughts?

Max

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photo Gears: What’s my next move?

  1. Pingback: What is my next move – redux « Max's Photo Blog

  2. Pingback: If You Had $2000 to Spend on Photographic Gear – What Would You Buy? « Max's Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

