iPad 2 for Photographers

I wanted to quickly comment the release of the new iPad 2 today from a photographer’s perspective.

First of, my spouse will be happy to know that I will not buy this one. I will stick with the original iPad. 🙂

The faster processor might help photo apps in processing files. But because the iPad appears to have the same RAM limitations, it still will be limited in size and may only output JPG files – so no true RAW editing.

This might not so much be an issue as I do not necessarily want to edit files on my iPad.

I want to view, rate, tag and file into projects the pictures I take. That basically is it.

Of course I want all these tagging and changes to sync back to Aperture (or Light Room if it is the workflow app you use).

So, the iPad 2 does not really address any of this. I think that the limitations are in the iOS API.

UPDATE: It appears that the iPad will have 512K of RAM after all. Maybe enough to get into more serious stuff. http://www.gottabemobile.com/2011/03/03/ipad-2-will-have-512mb-of-memory-ram/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+Gottabemobile+(GottaBeMobile)

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

