Five Star Rating Is Overrated

Steven Weller on the Bagelturf blog has an interesting take on rating pictures in Aperture.

I devised my rating system a while back. And thought that it was OK.

Here it is again in a nutshell:

0 (no stars): Not classified yet. But should as all pics will get rating or will be deleted.
1: A keeper, probably because the moment or the location brings fond memories, but no more (actually, the pics you keep should all have a minimum of 1 star)
2: A nice pic, a notch above a “keeper”. Maybe the composition is better or the moment is “magic”, but still not yet there. Could be posted online.
3: This pic is worth posting online and sharing with friends and family. Good one. Composition is great, lighting is great. Maybe you need some cropping, some retouching.
4: This is an awesome picture. Something oh so close to perfection. Definite portfolio material. You are proud of this pic!
5: Out of this world. You might not have many of these in your library. Actually, it is ok if you do not have any yet.

What really caught my eye about his rating was a tool I built at work to help my team prioritize marketing projects we have.

Here’s what I wrote in the accompanying documentation to assist my team rate projects:

For scoring projects, each criterion is scored on a scale of 1 to 5 where “5” is high. However, one should look at this scoring scale as a simple 1-2-3, or low-medium-high scale with the benefit of adding exception handling with the 1s and 5s.

What is interesting is that I am contradicting myself: 3 stars (or so) at work but 5 at home!

I will update my rating system going forward based on Steve’s system, but with a “Max twist”.

Here is my new rating system:

2: A pic to keep
3: A pic to show
4: A pic to be proud of

1: A (bad) pic that somehow you have to must to keep
5: A pic to be (super) proud of

Bagelturf – Five Star Rating Is Overrated.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Star Rating Is Overrated

  1. Pingback: A look back in time «

  2. Pingback: A look back in time |

  3. Pingback: How I use my iPad as photographer’s tool – a second look | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

