My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part V

Recap

This is the story of my latest Italian (and French) vacations. This is part 5 of 6:

Composition Part II

Another effect I sought for is the lights-shadows contrast. It is fairly easy shot to take, so I can’t add much other than the fact that you keep an eye out for it.

Voyage Italie-France Mai 2011- 164 (2).jpg

Shadows through a grilled door.

Voyage Italie-France Mai 2011- 81 (1).jpg

Tower shadows on a church.

Voyage Italie-France Mai 2011- 949.jpg

Shadows in Roman coliseum.

Sometimes I get lucky in composition, like in this pic where the couple lays in the stairs in sun light. No the best pic, until you see the light (pun intended!).

Voyage Italie-France Mai 2011- 445.jpgLight on a lazy afternoon.

One morning in San Gimignano, I decided to get up early to catch that magic Tuscany light. Just awesome. No techniques to be taught here, unless you need me to teach you how to setup your alarm clock ;-).

Morning light in Tuscany.

Asking permission to photograph works. You will even get surprising reactions sometimes. What really worked was asking elderly people, makes them feel like stars (and me like Joe McCally!).

Old man.

These above are pretty much all good shots. But there are plenty of mistakes that I did that I am not showing. Actually, I got a pretty honest (and brutal?) comment from PMarques. One of the mistakes that I need to correct is aligning my frame when taking vertical shots. I did not see these at first on the camera’s LCD, but once imported into Aperture, it was quite obvious that too many of those pics are not exactly 90 degrees. On some horizontal frame, although I was able to align horizontally more easily, I still tend to cut out some important parts sometimes.

Next post: Travel Applications and Workflow On The Go

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part V

  1. Pingback: My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part IV | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  2. Pingback: My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part VI | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  3. Pingback: My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  4. Pingback: My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part III | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  5. Pingback: My Italian vacation: a photographer’s recap | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  6. Pingback: My second summer as a photographer: an Italian vacation – Part II | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

