Choosing a portraiture lens

I have started shooting portraits. I like it. I like the gratification I get from my subjects. My I have soooo much to learn.

I know that gears do not make the photographer. A photographer friend of mind wrote recently on his Facebook wall: “It’s not in the bow and arrow as much as it is with the archer behind it!”.

I totally agree.

I started this thread on DPreview.com to gather some advice from the community.

A few things that I have learned so far:

One thing I have learned from your wise words:

  1. Portraiture is a field in itself and many lenses will do depending on what I really want to do. It’s like I always say to my clients at work: “Do not tell me what solution you want, tell me what your business problem is”.
  2. It also depends where you shoot: for me, my “studio” is my living room and space is tight. So maybe, I should go for something wide like 50mm, not the 85mm many on DPreview.com suggest.
  3. The 24-70 f/2.8 is pricey, I knew that. A user suggested the Nikon AF 35-70mm f2.8, which is very interesting.

Next shoot is not anytime soon, so I do have time to think about this…

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choosing a portraiture lens

  1. Vincent F says:

    If you have space restraints in your studio, then the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G is a no brainer and a steal for the price. A prime lens is always a winner and you will find yourself using it more and more as you discover all of its possibilities – a great lens period! You could also go for the AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED since it combines the possibilities of portrait and macro together.
    If you go for a zoom, then there is two possible choices: the AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED is versatile but you don’t have a wide aperture for portrait, and the AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR (same problem).
    I would personally go for either one of the prime lens (I bought my AF 50mm f/1.8 more than 24 years ago and still use it) but who am I to give you advices. Good luck on your quest and jouney.

Leave a Reply

