My Italian vacation: a photographer’s recap

In May, my spouse and I went on a three weeks trip to Italy (mostly) and France. We were celebrating a number of things, but most importantly, her 40th birthday. Venice, Rome, Tuscany, Cinque Terre, Burgundy and Paris. Quite a trip, I know.

This story has already been posted in seven parts.

I thought that it would be interesting to present it here again in once piece, sort of.

Preparation

This post is sort of a “thinking out loud” gears preparation written quite a few weeks before our departure. It discusses which lens I wanted to bring, in what bag and what was my “storage strategy”.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/my-italian-trip-gear-prepartion/

Prelude live from Venice

While I was in Venice, I took the time to write this first post. Very early impressions “live” from the scene. It was the only post directly from the field – further live action moved to Facebook (see last post). Already, there I made two key discoveries: to under expose and that I would use my wide angle much more than I had expected.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/05/10/pictures-in-venice/

Settings and Techniques Part I

In this part one of two of camera settings and composition techniques, I talk about how I dealt with the harsh sun (lucky us we had only a single rainy day) and how I took some night photography shots.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/10/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation/

Settings and Techniques Part II

Part two, talks more about everyday settings of how to take pictures without warning and other techniques like church photography.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation-part-ii/

Lenses

In the lenses chapter, I speak a lot about my Sigma 8-16mm UWA lens I bought especially for this trip and how I was surprised to use it so often.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation-part-iii/

Composition Part I

In this other two part chapter, I discuss various classical composition techniques I applied such as “frame within the frame”, “triangles” and others. This is probably one of my favorite post in the lot.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/21/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation-%E2%80%93-part-iv/

Composition Part II

In part two, light and shadows compositions are discussed with some of my favorite pics.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation-%E2%80%93-part-v/

Travel Applications and Workflow On The Go

The last section is devoted to various gadgets I used while traveling, like GPS, iPhone, iPad, etc. After all, I am a geek at heart. I also speak of the mobile workflow: from import to posting on Facebook.

https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/06/29/my-second-summer-as-a-photographer-an-italian-vacation-%E2%80%93-part-vi/

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Italian vacation: a photographer’s recap

  1. Pingback: Wide-Angle Lens Tips in Landscape Photography | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  2. Pingback: Italy Within The Frame 2012 | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  3. Pingback: A 300mm for safari: is it enough? | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  4. Pingback: 7 Musts of Great Composition in Photography | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  5. Pingback: Why do I take pictures | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  6. Pingback: 3 iPad Solutions for Travel Photography | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  7. Pingback: Capturing History in Washington DC: Introduction (1 of 12) | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

