Cedar Waxing bird, the American Talker

This weekend we went camping to place my wife and I love: Camping Voyageur in Chute à Blondeau, Ontario. It is a great provincial park on the Hudson river.

Of course, I brought along my gears :).

As much as I like bird shooting (with my camera that is), I am not a patient man.

I think of this as a “composition role”, like when actors have to play a role that is outside their normal gig, outside their comfort zone.

They say that patience is a virtue and that it gets rewarded. In my case it did.

I was able to capture this shot of a cedar waxing just about as I was to leave.

I had never shot one before. I could not even find its name in my book. Thanks to folks on dpreview.com for letting me in on it.

In French, this bird is called a “jaseur d’Amérique”, literally “American Talker”.

“Jaseur d’Amérique” – 1/250s, f/6.3, 230mm, ISO 1000
Not cropped, some noise reduction 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cedar Waxing bird, the American Talker

  1. Vincent F says:

    Magnificent picture! Composition and exposure are beautiful. Bravo!

  2. maximegousse says:

    Tks buddy!

  3. Pingback: The Most Important Thing In Any Photographer’s Bag | MaxPhotoBlog.net

  4. Pingback: Best of 2011: August | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

