7 Musts of Great Composition in Photography

I have been told to blog too much about photography gears. True, as I am a geek after all hence my passion for photography.

Lately, I have been talking a lot about Lightroom. Again, this is a reflection of what I am currently going through as I migrate away from Aperture.

I sometimes talk about my personal photography shoots, like my Italian vacation or my last portrait shoot. I will get back to that as soon as I can. I want to talk about bird photography in Florida as well as capturing some great moments at the recent Montreal Cycling Grand Prix.

But at the heart of it all, I am still only an enthusiast having fun with my Nikon D90. And I have still a lot to learn.

This is why this article by Lynford Morton titled “7 Musts of Great Composition in Photography” caught my attention. I still need to learn so much and the seven musts (or seven great habits!) of composition is a must read if you are like me.

Take for example #1 and #6: “Find a clear subject” and “Tell me a story”. If I may add to this, I would say: don’t just “take” a picture, “make it”. This is still something very new to me and something I learned during a private photo walk with the photographer Zanna Strong.

If you are to “tell a story”, then you should write to the reader. This is #4: “Evoke interest”.

Tips #2, #3 and #5 are more directly related to composition in my opinion – and the author provides two very eloquent pictures exemplifying this.

And the last tip: “Brake the rules”. Sometimes it works, other times, not so good as someone commented on some of my very wide angle shots in Burgundy.

All in all a great reading. To be repeated every month so that you do not forget them!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Musts of Great Composition in Photography

  1. Pingback: Shooting the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

