Tripod Review: Benro Travel Angel

There is a new blog that I am now following: ThePhotoTip.com.

Brian posted a video review of the Benro Travel Angel tripod that I purchased a couple of months back.

I like it very much. I like its sturdiness, compactness and ease of use. I also like the fact that I can convert it into a monopod.

At first, I thought that I would have preferred clips to extend the legs, but Brian shows a trick that will win me over.

I do have two things that bother me:

  • The base is difficult to unclip from the head, maybe it just takes time to get use to the mechanism;
  • The other thing bothering me is the fact that the screw that holds the camera to the mounting piece does not have a D-shape to help you tighten it; you need to use a 25¢ piece.

Travel Tripod Review – Benro Travel Angel » The Photo Tip.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tripod Review: Benro Travel Angel

  1. Gilberto says:

    Hi Maxime,
    this is Gilberto from Italy (you replied me on DPreview forum).
    At the end I choose the Benro C2180T Flat.
    At the moment I would like to ask you about the head? Did you choose benro too? which model? How do you feel with it?
    Thanks for the info

  2. maximegousse says:

    Gilberto,

    I chose the Benro B1 head. I can not really compare as I have not used others before. My only complain is that the screw at the bottom lacks a “butterfly nut bolt” (this is how we call it in French) that allows for easy tightening with your fingers. I must use a 25¢ coin instead.

    • Gilberto says:

      Maxime I thought you were american because you speak a perfect English.
      So, we don’t live so far 🙂
      I understand what you say and I think that the lack of the “butterfly nut bolt” is bad.
      Anyway after you tight the plate to the camera, is confortable and easy to set the camera on the head? I’m used to Manfrotto heads (actually I just have one “488RC2); with Manfrotto is very easy and quick to set and lock it.
      Is that true that B1 you have one “wheel” for up and down and another wheel for right and left?

      Forgive my poor English
      Greetings
      Gilberto

  3. maximegousse says:

    If you think that Montréal, Québec, is not far from Italy, I agree LOL. I am French speaking, not French 😉

    The B1 head I have is a ball head. I will grant you that when I have gloves on (as in today with -4°C) I find that the controls a little small.

    Also, I still need to get accustomed to slide on and off the camera to the head. Somewhat tricky. I guess that I prefer that to the camera slipping off too easily.

    I bought my Benro only. Good price but I wish that I could have tried out the ball heads in store prior to that.

    Grazie per aver letto mio blog

  4. Gilberto says:

    LOL, I mixed France and French 🙂
    Yes, we don’t live that close.
    At the it seems to me that you’re not (completely) satisfied with B1; I’m I wrong?

  5. maximegousse says:

    I like my B1 head, I wish that I could have made a more thorough selection.

  6. Pingback: Tripods and Monopods Guide | MaxPhotoBlog.net

Leave a Reply

