Lightroom 4 beta is available and Aperture users can rejoice

LR 4 beta is out and, yes, Aperture users can rejoice … or pick some fun a Lightroom users like me.

You see, when I switched from AP to LR, I did so for very simple reasons: better noise reduction built-in, greater speed but most importantly better industry support including by great photographers like David duChemin.

But I did miss out on important features that are present in Aperture like geotagging, book making, localized adjustments and, yes, email sending.

I am happy to see that LR 4 will include all this plus some interesting video editing features as well as Adobe Carousel, er, Adobe Revel integration.

I just wish that it would have included auto-publishing and collections within projects, a la Aperture.

All in all, a worthy upgrade for sure.

Lightroom 4 beta now available « Lightroom Journal.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lightroom 4 beta is available and Aperture users can rejoice

  1. AJ Jack says:

    Facial recognition would be nice too. I haven’t made the switch yet, but i am annoyed at the way Aperture uses the version name as the caption when you export to Facebook. Hopefully LR uses the caption as the caption.

  2. maximegousse says:

    AJ, I have found that Aperture face tagging made me “lazy”, i.e. I would rely too much on it and Aperture would miss some unbeknown to me.

    Read this post of mine:

    https://maximegousse.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/lightroom-keyword-tagging-vs-aperture-face-tagging/

  3. AJ Jack says:

    Thanks for the insight. I agree about the accuracy of face recognition. I tend to do the auto detect and then double check manually.

Leave a Reply

