Capturing History in Washington DC: Touched by History (10 of 12)

Touched by History

Washington is incredibly rich in history. They say that you cannot rewrite history. But you can, sometimes, tell a different story, capture a different moment in time and live incredible emotions.

I am not American and I do not always adhere to the patriotism of the USA. I however have to adit that the changing of the guard of the unknown solider at the Arlington cemetery was very moving.

I was lucky enough to be posted leaning on the fence, six inches away from the group of officers approaching me. My lens right in their face. Seeing and feeling their concentration as they passed right by me, I was so moved that I said loud enough for them to hear: “Thank you gentlemen”.

65mm, 1/200, f/5.6, ISO 100

You can read the full story “Capturing History in Washington DC” by clicking on these links:
1. Introduction     2. Gear Preparation     3. Lincoln Memorial
4. Catching Light     5. Working on Composition     6. Capturing Details
7. Working the Magic     8. Going Wide     9. Air and Space Museum – Heaven and Hell
10. Touched by History     11. Telling a New Story     12. Conclusion

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

